Reviews

What people are saying about Longmead House




Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Longmead house on multiple occasions and havenow met it's 3 rd set of owners.They are continuing to provide fantastic hospitality and accommodation in a perfect location. Breakfast is excellent and caters for all dietary requirements.Room 1 is very homely and comfortable.Mel and Nick are brilliant hosts.We look forwards to returning next season

Response

Thank you Paul. It is one of our pleasures to greet guests on their arrival at Longmead. It is particularly special when our guests are returners. We like to make everyone feel very comfortable and provide for their requirements.

Reviewer:Paul T | Wed 16th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely weekend - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time and really enjoyed our stay at Longmead House. Very comfortable, great breakfast and very accommodating hosts in a lovely little town.

Response

Thank you Chris and Christine. We enjoyed having you stay with us as always. We look forward to your next stay to continue to explore the local attractions and area.

Reviewer:Chris and C | Wed 16th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Great break - Rating 4/5

Convenient location, friendly hosts, excellent spacious room and superb breakfasts. Difficult to find fault really though l think car parking might be tight when full.

Response

Thank you Mervyn. We glad that you enjoyed your break. Although our car park spaces are not well delineated, we can accommodate 8 cars on site which is one space per room.

Reviewer:Mervyn S | Sat 28th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


And another lovely weekend at Lynton - Rating 5/5

Third time staying this year at Nick and Mels, always a pleasure, warm welcome,great food, and spotlessly clean;highly recommended.

Response

Thanks Patty , It was good to see you both again as always it was a pleasure . We enjoy having you stayfor your relaxation weekend. Looking forward to your next visit already

Reviewer:Patricia M | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Longmead - Rating 4/5

Clean well appointed room but quite small and a rattly window. Very good breakfast. Good location. Very good value overall.

Response

Thank you David.Longmead House retains its original Victorian sash windows which form part of the character of the house. We do have wedges to mitigate the effects of wind on the windows in guest rooms. We will ensure that guests are fully aware of this in future.

Reviewer:David H | Sun 22nd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


relaxing stay - Rating 4/5

Wonderful place with nice hosts, good breakfast, town center and access to coastal path in easy reach

Response

Thanks Ursula. We are glad you got to take some lovely memories of your stay here with us

Reviewer:Ursula A | Sun 22nd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Perfect stay in Lynton - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Longmead for 2 nights and were very impressed. Really nice clean room, excellent breakfasts and a perfect location for Lynton town and the Valley of the Rocks. Homemade cake on tap too!!!! Thankyou Mel and Nick for a lovely home from home stay. We will definitely come back.

Response

Thanks Gill for you feedback . We enjoy meeting new people and we strive to make all our guestsfeel comfortable and welcomed into our home. Melanie enjoys making her home made \'goodies\' for people to sample at breakfast and after a long day walking , or just out and about in our beautiful town, and National Park.We look forwardto seeing you again. See our website for Early Bird 2020 bookingsto book your next stay. If you book your 2020 stay with us before the end of 2019 we willhonor this years prices. .

Reviewer:Gill M | Sun 22nd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

We received the warmest of welcomes at Longmead and our rooms were clean and comfortable. One of the best breakfasts we have ever had and the home made cake put out in the evening was a lovely touch too. Great location for walking to cafes and restaurants and for walking.

Response

Thanks Sonia , we make every effort to make all our guests feel welcomed and the home made \'goodies\' are always popular. Melanie is constantly trying new and old favourtie cakes for people to savor during their stay. As you say we are fortunate that we are so well situated and central to all the sights, and town as well as the Valley of Rocks.

Reviewer:Sonia A | Sun 15th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Four nights stay in September 2019 - Rating 5/5

Glenys and I felt very welcome as soon as we arrived for our stay, and despite some disappointing weather on day three, were pleasantly surprised with Lynton and Lynmouth. Our room was very comfortable with excellent facilities, and breakfast was excellent, with good choice and our hosts, Nick and Melanie were very helpful with every aspect of our holiday.

Response

Thanks Philip it was great to meet you both and we are glad that you felt warm and comfortable staying with us. The local are has many things to offer, whatever the weather.

Reviewer:Phillip T | Sat 14th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Peaceful - Rating 4/5

Booked this last minute and it did not disappoint. A warm welcome and a great breakfast with fantastic bacon!!

Response

Thanks Trevor , it was great to meet you both. We strive to source local produce and ingredients for our breakfast items and it is lovely to get feedback that these are appreciated by our guests. Do pop in and see us when you are next down in Lynton.

Reviewer:Trevor P | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Delightful House on th edge of Lynton close to stunning countryside - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay at Longmead House.Nick and Mel were very accommodating, and made us feel very welcome.Our room was spacious and clean, and had a very comfortable bed with lovely fresh bed linen.We slept very well, andenjoyed lovely home-cooked breakfast which was much needed sustenance for our walk along the coastal path to the Valley of Rocks.Fabulous location in our favourite get-away place.

Response

Many thanks Gillie. We know how demanding walking in Exmoor can be and our breakfasts help our guests get the most out of this fabulous area. Hope to see you both again soon.

Reviewer:Gillie L | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely house - Rating 5/5

Lovely house run by its very (!!!) friendly and helpful owners, optimally located. Great breakfast.

Response

Thank you. We want our guests to be comfortable and enjoy Lynton and Exmoor as much as possible.

Reviewer:Dr. S | Sat 31st Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Longmead House - Rating 5/5

Our recent stay at Longmead House was very enjoyable.Nick and Mel are very welcoming hosts and very knowledgeable about the area. Our room was lovely, the bed very comfortable, and breakfasts were great;Mel's granoala was particularly lovely. We would recommend anyone to stay there and not hesitate in choosing to stay there again.

Response

Thank you Graham , it was lovely to meet you both. Mel prides herself in using local , fresh ingredients in her breakfasts and when she prepares her home made granola, bread and marmalade. These are usually popular as they contain no additives or preservatives and it is always nice to hear that our guests appreciate the effort that she puts in.We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Graham H | Tue 27th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

Melanie and Nick were wonderful hosts. Greeted us with homemade baked goods. Breakfasts made to order and delicious. Outstanding location. Parking on site. Lynton and lynmouth just a very charming place to visit.WiFi very strong. Nice outdoor area to enjoy.

Response

Many thanks, Gary. Melanie\'s breakfasts give our guests a great start to their day. Our level parking is a great boon to guests wishing to enjoy the Valley of Rocks, a walk to Watersmeet or explore the villages.

Reviewer:Gary L | Mon 26th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely Lynton - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay at Longmead House, beds and bedding tip top, breakfast was always delicious.Melanie and Nick have obviously made it their mission to glean as much knowledge of the surrounding area as possible in the short time they have been in Lynton. We'll worth a visit.

Response

Thank you Carol for your comments,as you say we have made every effort to experience and visit many of the local attractions, restaurants and sights in the Lynton and Lynmouth area so we can speak genuinelyabout them and share information with our guests.It was great to meet you both and we are glad that you had a lovely stay with us. It is always nice to hear feedback from our guests particularly when they have enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewer:Carol F | Fri 23rd Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


A PIECE OF HEAVEN - Rating 5/5

The best B&B we have stayed at!Welcoming and hospitable hosts, spotless room and excellent breakfasts with plenty of choice.Will definatly stay here again and will also recommend to our friends/ reletives.

Response

Thank you Jamal and Anne for your compliments andcomments. It was lovely to meet you both and despite the weather it is fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful time exploring old and new places around the area.We always strive to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable during their stay. Remember if you book your next stay with usfor 2020 before the end of Oct 2019 we will honor this years room rates .... We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Reviewer:Jamal S | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Wonderfull - Rating 5/5

We realy enjoyed staying there. Nice Owners and a warm wellcome. Fantasic nature, good food.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments . We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay and wish you well on the rest of your trip.

Reviewer:N | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Fabulous place to stay - Rating 5/5

We can not recommend Longmead House highly enough! Absolutely fabulous place to stay to explore beautiful Exmoor. It's very conveniently located near to restaurants, pubs and shops as well as beautiful walks inland and coastal. The whole place is spotlessly clean, comfortable and cosy. Melanie and Nick make you feel welcome and looked after. They are excellent guests and their breakfast is to die for. We had absolutely fantastic long weekend staying in Longmead House and would love to come back very soon!

Response

Thank you very much Radka. We are very pleased that you had such a good time and would love to see you here again. Our booking diary for 2020 is now open and we are holding prices for direct bookings at the current rate until 31st October.

Reviewer:Radka B | Tue 13th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


perfect stay in the perfect location- Rating 5/5

longmead house is perfectly located in beautiful surroundings,the hosts were very welcoming and the rooms spotless ,breakfast was superb,locally sourced food,homemade bread and granola made by the hosts ,our room was very comfortable and we would definatleystay here again

Reviewer:Vincent S | Wed 7th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Back again - Rating 5/5

This was our second visit in a few wreeks, we really enjoyed it. Mel and Nick are great hosts, great breakfast, comfy rooms. a great place to stay, close to lovely walks shops and places to eat. Well worth a visit.

Response

Many thanks, Patty.

Reviewer:Patricia M | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Good place to stay lovely area for walking - Rating 4/5

The house is on three floors, the top floor is steep steps so consider this when booking.Breakfasts were great.Very welcoming couple would stay here again

Response

Thank you Alan. We will review the content and positioning of our Access Statement

Reviewer:Alan D | Sun 4th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Feel God! - Rating 5/5

Warm Welcome in a Nice House with friendly Host. Clean Rooms and good Breakfast make the stay very comfortable. We came back i Think.

Response

Thanks for your comments and it was lovely to meet you both. We look forward to seeing you both, ifperhapsyou visit the UK again next year.

Reviewer:Christian B | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Great Location. - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Longmead House! From the arrival with tea &cake was the beginning. The room was comfortable &the breakfast was really good lwith surprising little extras. A few minutes down the road took you to Valley of the Rocks amazing! Walk the other way takes you to the little town with quirky shops &places to eat. I have been to the location a few times but my first to Longmead House. We would stay here again! Great Location. Thank You Melanie &Nick.

Response

Thank you Phil, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would like to come back. We always welcome return guests and is so lovely to see that you appreciated all my home made breakfast items and welcoming tea and cake.We are fortunate to be located so close to both the town and the Valley of Rockswhich makes it convenient for walking in all directions. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Reviewer:Phil D | Sun 21st Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Comfortable, Light Room - Rating 4/5

Thanks for a lovely 2 night stay.Welcome coffee and cake on arrival, biscuits in room.Bright, cheerful dining room with excellent breakfast, guests'own lounge. Nice garden to sit in.Ample parking.

Response

Thank you. We are very pleased that you had a lovely stay. We really want our gusts to feel as comfortable here as they are at their own home.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs I | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


weekend break - Rating 5/5

Fantastic from the start, welcome of tea and cake, breakfast, - the best,freshly cooked, room clean and tidy , will be back

Response

Thanks Dawn , it is always lovely to hear that guests appreciate our efforts to make their stay friendly , welcoming and enjoyable. As well as appreciating the local produce and home made items that we use for breakfast . We look forward to seeing you again soon. Melanie and Nick

Reviewer:Dawn D | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Great 2 night stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed here in the small room but perfectly fine and well equipped for a 2 night break. Owners lovely and very welcoming.Fantastic breakfasts.Great location.Highly recommend and will certainly go again.

Response

Thanks Peter , it was lovely to meet you both andwe look forward to your return visit.

Reviewer:Peter C | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


The place to stay in Lynton - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay, very comfortable and made to feel as friends. Need that rest wish we could have stayed longer but we would like to come back next year!

Response

ThanksRobert, we try to make sure that everyone feels welcome and comfortable during their stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us. Have a good summer , you know where we are if you need any more respite this year.

Reviewer:Robert M | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Perfect location, perfect hosts, great food - Rating 5/5

Great location in Lynton, few minutes walk one way to town &cliff railway, few minutes the other way to Valley of Rocks - spectacular &not to be missed! Friendly, helpful and efficient hosts, lovely welcome with Mel’s delicious home made cake, lovely room, comfy bed, good shower and wonderful breakfast- homemade granola, bread, jam &marmalade and really quality produce used and cooked to perfection by Mel and served/hosted by Nick. Best value in the area, would heartily recommend and hope to be back soon. The Crown in Lynton, as recommended by Nick &Melanie, do great food at good prices and do a good pint of Stag ale too.

Response

Many thanks for your kind words,, Jane. We very much enjoy meeting and hosting all our guests. We pay attention to the details you mention to try to ensure that our guests have a warm and welcome stay with us.

Reviewer:Jane S | Fri 12th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

This is our third visit, this latest time with the new owners. We love the location, close to the pretty twin towns of Lynton and Lynmouth;and the accommodation is very comfortable. Would prefer an earlier breakfast time as we are early risers - but the breakfast itself is a treat. Melanie’s daily cake in the guest lounge is a nice touch too! Will definitely keep coming to Longmead House!

Response

Many thanks for your comments. We are reviewing our breakfast times and we will serve breakfast at at earlier times when guests request. Thanks for your feedback and we are glad that you had a lovely stay with us here at Longmead and we look forward to seeing you both again

Reviewer:Carina W | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Recommend- Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay rooms are good bed very comfortable. Breakfast should not be misted it’s top notch. Everyone is very friendly and welcoming. Location a slow 5 minute walk to town centre and the same to the valley of the rocks in the other direction. We recommend a stay, we will stay again.

Reviewer:Andrew D | Thu 4th Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Great weekend - Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome, great weekend, room and breakfast excellent. Great location easy parking. Would stay there again.

Response

Thank you Derek and Jean. We have found that others appreciate our location, level parking and breakfast and very pleased that you did too. We would love to see you again.

Reviewer:Derek and Jean M | Thu 27th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


A Great four nights stay - Rating 5/5

Bedroom and all areas of accommodation up to the standard expected.Breakfast exceeded the previous owners high standard.It would be difficult to think how it could be improved !!Definitely recommend Longmead House to anyone.Thank you Nick &Melanie

Response

Many thanks Peter. We are pleased that you and Christine enjoyed your stay. We always try to pay attention to our guests and their needs to ensure they want to return.

Reviewer:Peter T | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Exemplary hospitality! - Rating 5/5

Nick and Melanie cannot be faulted as hosts. A welcome cup of tea and slice of Mel's homemade cake in the guest lounge provides them a chance to give you your keys and a helpful induction and suggestions for what to do and see. Breakfast is first-rate - all homemade or local ingredients. Our room was excellent - no shortage of power points or hangers (as is so often the case in quite up-market hotels), with lots of nice little inclusions. You're both doing a great job - thanks!

Response

Many thanks Andrew. We believe that the little extra effort helps set Longmead apart. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewer:Andrew T | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 6 months ago


First class - Rating 5/5

Stayed for three nights at Longmead House Lynton. Proprietors Nick and Melanie could not have been more professional and helpful. Genuinely nice people where nothing is too much trouble. Excellent location for walks and access to Lynton and Lynmouth. Will be returning.

Response

Itr was a pleasure meeting you both and we are pleased that you were able to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us here at Longmead. Hope that you made a lot more memories. We are glad that you had a lovely time ( even though Tracey was under the weather ) and look forward to seeing you both again.

Reviewer:Mr A C A | Sun 19th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Satisfied - Rating 4/5

As we have been accustomed to in previous years.An acceptable place when visiting Lynton and the near areas.

Response

Many thanks. We do hope to see you again.Nick

Reviewer:Anthony & Ela R | Sat 18th May 2019 | 6 months ago


lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We were very warmly welcomed at Longmead House and enjoyed our stay there greatly. Tiny but really gorgeous room, Nick and Melanie wonderful and passionate hosts, marvellous breakfast and great tipps as to where to go out and what to do. Thanks again for everything!

Response

Helen, many thanks for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be able to visit again.

Reviewer:Helen L | Wed 1st May 2019 | 7 months ago


Yet Another. Is it To Longmead House - Rating 4/5

Chris and I thought we would have a few days away after the passing of my father. The new owners Melanie and Nick were very welcoming and wish them all the best.The towels could have been larger but, otherwise,we had a lovely stay in a lovely area and we will be back.Regards Di and Chris

Response

Thank you Di. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay atLongmead this time. We are always looking at ways to improve our guests experience whilst staying here and value your comment. We will certainly look at bath and hand towels. We do hope to see you and Chris back here soon

Reviewer:di W | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


A great find! - Rating 5/5

Melanie and Nick are excellent hosts, who made us feel very welcome. Our room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice. Would definately recommend and hope to return again soon. Thank you.

Response

Many thanks for those kind words, Margaret. Our aim is is to give our guests the experience that we would like to have ourselves. We would love to see you both again soon!

Reviewer:Margaret V | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Swcp recommended - Rating 5/5

A very friendly welcome and cosy stay whilst walking the coast path..lovely breakfast and packed lunch..great location..wouldcome again ..highly recommended

Response

Thanks Paula, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us on your walking route.It is nice to receive some feedback also about the packed lunch, I hope that it kept you going on your next leg of the coast path. Look forward to your next visit with us soon. Melanie and Nick

Reviewer:Paula D | Sat 13th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Nick and Melanie were great hosts. We felt very welcome and really enjoyed our weekend. The breakfast was very tasty, and the room very clean. Would be happy to stay again! Thanks!

Response

Many thanks for your kind words Jean-Pierre. We are very pleased that you had a good weekend here.

Reviewer:Jean pierre B | Mon 8th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Thank you- Rating 4/5

We had a really great stay with Melanie and Nick who were hospitable and helpful and warm (even when our children had the odd moment!)A lovely setting and property which meant we were well set up to enjoy some family time. Afternoon cake was amazing and breakfasts yummy and set us up well for the day. Thank you

Response

Glad that we could contribute to enjoying some family time together. Thank you for the great comments. hope to see you again

Reviewer:Joanne P | Thu 7th Mar 2019 | 9 months ago


What a lucky find - Rating 5/5

Having made a fairly late decision to visit the Lynton &Barnstaple Railway Gala, I wasn't very hopeful of finding good accomodation, but we couldn't have made a better choice than Longmead House.From the warm welcome from Lauren through to the comfortable room, and excellent breakfasts, we had a first class stay.Loved the location, both of Lynton (never been before) and the hotel - I have never been awoken by the call of a tawny owl on the outskirts of a town before.All in all a very special weekend.Thank you.(We won't of course, hold you responsible for the decision by some muppet to close the A39 on the Monday morning which meant a massive detour to get to Minehead, and miss our planned train on the West Somerset Railway before heading home to West Sussex!!!)

Reviewer:Martin C | Tue 2nd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Can thoroughly recommend Longmead House in Lynton.A very comfortable stay, I had a single room which while compact had everything I needed and didn't spend a lot of time in it anyway.Lauren is very friendly and welcoming and Henry's breakfasts are probably among the best I've had, there are only a few of which I'd make this comment.A lovely time, great walks around Exmoor and a stroll down the road to the Valley of the Rocks which is such a special place.

Reviewer:Tricia A | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


A pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed one night in the single room, which, though compact, was perfectly adequate, clean and very comfortable. Lauren was very friendly, informative and went out of her way to make sure I had a suitable breakfast. The location, close to the shops and coast path, was very convenient.

Reviewer:Abigail B | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Holiday - Rating 5/5

Beautiful guest house, the delightful character of the house was retained while still providing a very comfortable stay.Lauren and Henry were excellent, welcoming hosts. We had a wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Mary S | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

I just had a most enjoyable stay at Longmead House. Everything you might need was thought of and supplied. The breakfasts were amazing and everything was spotless. Easy parking and perfect hosts. Thank you Lauren and Henry I will be back soon.

Reviewer:Cornelia A | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

I just had a most enjoyable stay at Longmead House. Everything you might need was thought of and supplied. The breakfasts were amazing and everything was spotless. Easy parking and perfect hosts. Thank you Lauren and Henry I will be back soon.

Reviewer:Cornelia A | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Longmead House is an excellent choice as a base to explore the Lynton and Lynmouth area.It’s just a short walk down to the Valley of the Rocks, for stunning scenery and beautiful sunsets.Our room was lovely and comfortable.Lauren and Henry are perfect hosts, very welcoming and considerate:booking a table for dinner at a local restaurant for us on our first night there, which was very helpful.Breakfasts are a real treat, with home-made bread and marmalade, and an outstanding full-English on the menu.We would highly recommend staying at Longmead House.

Reviewer:Elizabeth R | Thu 5th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


enjoyable stop on the way - Rating 5/5

I arrived Longmead House after an exhausting walk and had a very warm welcome. My room was lovely and I got very good recommendations for restaurants. The Hosts offered a great breakfast which brought me through the day. Many tanks :-)

Reviewer:Carola K | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Return to Longmead House 2018 - Rating 5/5

Fourth visit to Longmead. Lauren and Henry provided their usual excellent service. Lovely room, pretty garden to sit out in with a glass of wine, and tasty breakfast. Off street parking and walking distance to a variety of restaurants for dinner, so a great location to relax.

Reviewer:Jacky C | Wed 13th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Long mead House Lynton - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation. Super breakfast,very friendly hosts.Good easy on site parking. The accommodation is situated in a lovely part of North Devon and is ideal for walkers.There are several very good restaurants close by. Thoroughly recommended, we will definitely return.

Reviewer:Peter T | Fri 8th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Very nic place, wonderful rooms, hosts very friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast. Near to the Valley of the Rocks.

Reviewer:Christine P | Mon 21st May 2018 | 1 year ago


You did it again - Rating 5/5

Having stayed a couple of years ago on our return we felt that it was even better well done Henry keep doing what you do so well.

Reviewer:Keith G | Tue 1st May 2018 | 1 year ago


Home from home- Rating 5/5

Lauren and Henry are fantastic hosts.We always look forward to our visits and of course the fabulous breakfasts.

Reviewer:Brian W | Sun 22nd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Spring Stay - Rating 5/5

We just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our visit to Lynton. We had such a comfortable stay and everything was absolutely spotless. There was a really good choice for breakfast but Henry's 'Full English' was so delicious we just didn't get around to trying anything else! Lauren and Henry were both lovely, so friendly and welcoming. Thank you again.

Reviewer:Mr. & Mrs. T | Fri 16th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay to visit the area - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable and pleasant overnight stay at Longmead House. The couple running the accommodation give a marvellous service, and offer an excellent cooked to order breakfast, with plenty of choices of hot and cold dishes.Our room was very comfortable and quiet, and although not large, had a good choice of hot drinks to make, plus bottles of water and biscuits!It was very pleasant overnight stay for us on this occasion, and we were very impressed with everything which is all done by Lauren and Henry.We would certainly recommend Longmead House for a short or longer stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Miriam C | Tue 24th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Weekend Stay at Longmead House - Rating 5/5

The location is excellent, everything is walking distance. The hosts are very lovely and warm and made sure we were well greeted despite arriving late on the Friday. Room was clean and comfy. A lovely little stay.

Reviewer:NIM J | Tue 3rd Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Walking trip to North Devon - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay as usual in this lovely part of Devon. Lauren and Henry made us very welcome. Will be back!!

Reviewer:Kingsley and Caroline M | Sun 3rd Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Nice B&B, friendly owners - Rating 5/5

I booked two nights here when I was looking to spend a couple of days in Lynton and Lynmouth. I chose Longmead House due to the availability of a single room with en suite shower room, but the reviews were also consistently good, so that helped me to decide to stay here. I was very glad I did. Longmead House is in a nice location on the edge of Lynton, just a few minutes walk into the town centre. I was warmly greeted by Lauren and Henry. There is a large lounge for guests and my room was very comfortable. The breakfasts in the morning were great, lots of fruit salad and cereals to start followed by a good full English cooked to order by Henry. It was the perfect base for me whilst staying in Lynton, shame I only had two nights there, but if I ever go back to Lynton I shall certainly look at staying at Longmead House again.

Reviewer:Patrick L | Sat 2nd Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


As Good As Ever - Rating 5/5

This was our 5th stay at Longmead House and as ever it did not disappoint. Lauren &Henry are excellent hosts and the quality and location of the accommodation is very high. We will return again.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin C | Fri 1st Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely break in friendly b&b - Rating 5/5

We had originally planned for this B&B to be a stop off during a week long hike. We couldn't do the hike in the end, but we are glad we visited the B&B. The owners are helpful, friendly and have created a lovely atmosphere in their home. We will be returning when we finally are able to do our hike.

Reviewer:Sarah P | Sun 13th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Warm and friendly - Rating 5/5

Second visit this year which says it all! Henry and Lauren are warm and welcoming and you feel like friends. Last minute booking so had the only non en suite room, but no problem as our own private shower room across the corridor with bathrobes supplied. Excellent breakfast especially eggs benedict, and home made bread and marmalade. Great location near Valley of the Rocks plus easy walk into Lynton, what is there not to like? We will return!

Reviewer:Mrs Sue M | Wed 9th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Top Class Stay! - Rating 5/5

Had great stay, extremely comfortable room, fa tastic breakfasts, and excellent location.Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Carolyn K | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Welcoming enviroment & excellent breakfast - Rating 5/5

A quiet location on the edge of Lynton. You can walk from the door. Good quality breakfast &comfortable room made for an enjoyable stay. Thanks.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian H | Sun 23rd Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay in a great location - Rating 5/5

We spent 3 nights at Longmead House and had a lovely welcome from Lauren, which got our stay off to a great start.Henry's breakfasts are delicious, and Lauren makes a point of remembering everyone's name which adds to the feeling of welcome.Longmead House was in a perfect location for us - near the start of some great walks - coast and countryside.At the same time it was within short walking distance of restaurants for an evening meal, yet quietly situated.If you are looking for this type of location, with a warm welcome, delicious breakfasts, and high standards of cleanliness, stay here! We certainly will if we are able to visit Lynton again.

Reviewer:Amanda & Alan L | Tue 18th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Great stay and fantastic hospitality - Rating 5/5

My second stay at Longmead and Lauren &Henrycould not be better hosts.Comfort and luxury all combined with an amazing location and the most bostin' cooked breakfast you can get (bostin means excellent by the way, I'm from the Black Country;)

Reviewer:Steven D | Fri 7th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent Accommodation & Service - Rating 5/5

Immaculate accommodation, very friendly &helpful owners.Fantastic breakfast with plenty of choice including fresh fruit salad, homemade bread &preserves and of course cooked breakfast. We had the room with our own bathroom across landing, but not a problem. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Ms E I | Thu 29th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent stay- Rating 5/5

We had a great time at longmead house. We stayed for a week and found Lauren and Henry very welcoming and friendly. The food was first class. We would recommend staying at long mead house to everyone. Well done Lauren and Henry

Reviewer:Mr. gordon f | Mon 26th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


We keep going back for more - Rating 5/5

After a 2yr health break we returned to Longmead delighted that very little has changed. New owners but the place has the same comfortable feel and the room we had was immaculate with a very comfy bed. Henry's breakfasts were fabulous! Lauren and Henry were very welcoming and friendly and on hand to help with any advice about the area. Will definitely be returning next year. Thanks for a lovely week.

Reviewer:Ms. KimJ | Sun 18th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


short break - Rating 5/5

This was our second visit.Henry and Lauren are excellent hosts, so nice and friendly.The room was lovely and the breakfasts great.

Reviewer:Mr. John B | Sat 10th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Londmead House May 2017 - Rating 5/5

My 4th stay at Longmead House. As always, the welcome was the warmest and the cooked breakfasts the tastiest. Ideally situated for access to coastal, woodland and riverside footpaths and walks, this is a lovely place to stay to enjoy the fresh greenness of Spring . Thank you Lauren and Henry - we look forward to our next visit.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacky C | Sat 20th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

My husband and I had a 2 night stay at Longmead House, Lauren and Henry were very welcoming and they kindly locked our bikes in their garage. We stayed in room1 which had the king size bed. Lovely room, I especially liked the chair in the bay window, which was lovely and sunny. Room was spotless. Henry's cooked breakfast was superb, I can recommend the scramble eggs with smoked salmon. Lauren was very helpful in recommend restaurants and places to go. We would definitely stay again. Thanks for a most enjoyable weekend break.

Reviewer:Mrs. Debbie M | Mon 15th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Staying at Longmead - Rating 5/5

We had a delightful stay at Longmead House recently.Our hosts were charming and very helpful suggesting what to see and where to eat. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. The best thing was being able to leave our car in the car park and walk everywhere. We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to others.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan P | Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Like Staying With Friends - Rating 5/5

We had a very warm welcome from Henry and Lauren who sat down with us over a cup of tea and told us about local walks, pubs and restaurants. They also offered to make bookings for us.Very good breakfasts, with fruit every day. The highlight for us was eggs benedict.Clean and comfortable room.A good location a few minutes walk from Lynton's restaurants.

Reviewer:Travelled as a c | Wed 12th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Personal, Warm Welcome - Rating 5/5

Had a truly lovely weekend at Longmead House. Lauren and Henry could not have done more for us during our stay. The room was exactly what we were hoping for. In particular the bedding and bed was amazing, wifi excellent, cleanilness faultless and breakfast delicious!

Reviewer:Runners, travelled as a c | Tue 4th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Fantastic Place, Luxury and Homely - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm welcome from Lauren & Henry, luxury, comfort and a homely feel, plus great lounge with well-stocked bar and woodburner. Had a single room, very cosy and clean at a very reasonable rate, stayed for 3 nights whilst exploring the coast, SW coast path and loads of NT places to visit in the area, just minutes from the Valley of the Rocks complete with wild goats (in the valley not in the B&B). Great places to eat and drink nearby. Cooked breakfasts totally rocked and of course came with black pudding, will be going back for my Autumn coast walking break.

Reviewer:Travelled S | Tue 28th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


“So friendly and welcoming”- Rating 5/5

Arriving after a long drive, it was so good to receive a friendly welcome. I am a single traveller and it was so refreshing to feel so relaxed. The room was exactly what I needed with such a comfortable bed, everything I needed for a short stay and so clean. Breakfast had so much to offer and the home made bread, marmalade and jam were so delicious. Perfect to set me up for a day out. Lauren went over the local area for me with places to eat and to visit. I will certainly go back as it is an ideal place to stay to explore the local area. A huge thank you to Lauren and Henry.

Reviewer:Travelled S | Wed 12th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


- Rating 5/5

“Brilliant!” A wonderful B&B in a great location for exploring North Devon. The house and rooms are spotless, breakfast is delicious with a wide range of options and the owners, Lauren & Henry, are incredibly welcoming with lots of knowledge and information on the local area. Highly recommended, we have already planned our trip down for next year.

Reviewer:Travelled As A C | Wed 5th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


“Wow - a fabulous b & b!”- Rating 5/5

Incredible bed and breakfast accommodation with wonderful hosts, Lauren and Henry. We were greeted with hot drinks and flapjack, given a brief outline of the accommodation, surrounding area, walks etc. and then shown to our rooms which were all beautifully presented with lots of little extras. Henry's breakfasts were delicious - full English and eggs benedict cooked to perfection. Lauren and Henry really strive 100% to make your stay with them perfect.

Reviewer:Travelled With F | Wed 14th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Fantastic stay, amazing hosts - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a weekend with Lauren and Henry and have had a fantastic stay. As hosts they were spot on. I have Coeliac Disease and they were able to fully accommodate gluten free sausages and bread for breakfast. Lauren was also able to advise on local eateries where we could find gluten free food.The room was spotless and has everything you would hope to find. The bed was big and comfy with lovely crisp linen.It's hard to believe that Lauren and Henry have only been at Longmead House for a year. The professionalism they show cannot be surpassed. I would recommend Longmead House to anyone visiting North Devon. It is just on the edge of where the Valley of The Rocks meets the town so is perfectly situated for walks and visits to the various shops and restaurants etc. on offer. "

Reviewer:Travelled With F | Tue 12th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Third visit to Longmead House - Rating 5/5

This was our third visit to Longmead House. Once again we enjoyed our stay. Henry & Lauren made us very welcome. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Henry's breakfast was great. All produce locally sourced. Longmead House is a great base for exploring. There are great walks wonderful scenery and lots of places to eat. We would highly recommend this B&B and look forward to our next visit. Chris & John

Reviewer:Travelled With F | Tue 5th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Exellent stay in Linton - Rating 5/5

Exellent rooms, fantastic breakfast and very friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kirsten P | Mon 1st Aug 2011 | 8 years ago


Brilliant!- Rating 5/5

Very nice room, excellent food and extremely nice people - best B&B ever!

Reviewer:Mr. David C | Mon 1st Aug 2011 | 8 years ago


Thanks for everything - Rating 4/5

We had an enjoyable three day stay in Longmeadhouse. Alan &Caroline were very welcoming and the breakfast was varied and excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul V | Fri 24th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


Longmead House - Rating 4/5

We arent used to B&B type accommodation but this appeared to be the best option in this area.Longmead house was well located and we had a very warm and friendly welcome.Our room was clean, well equipped and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic and deserves 5 stars, great place to stay.

Reviewer:Miss. SueM | Tue 14th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


Nice and Comfortable - Rating 4/5

Very warm welcome and hospitality. Clean and nice and good breakfast menu. Location very good in respect of day trips, walking etc. to Valley of Rocks, Lynmouth, Exmoor and other places along the Heritage Cost.

Reviewer:Mrs. Dorte F | Tue 24th May 2011 | 8 years ago


“Great break ”- Rating 5/5

What a fabulous B+B, Lauren and Henry are fabulous hosts, their attention to detail is what you would expect at a higher rated hotel. Their personal touch makes this a stand out venue. The freshly cooked breakfast is second to none with the added homemade bread and marmalades a real classy touch. We will be back again.

Reviewer:Travelled With F | Tue 16th Aug 2005 | 14 years ago


Cozy B&B - Rating 5/5

Warm Hosts, Great Location” Had a truly wonderful stay here. Lauren and Henry were incredibly warm and welcoming! Delicious breakfasts (homemade bread and marmalades were to die for), very clean and cozy. A short walk from the Valley of Rocks, which is what initially drew me in. There is no shortage of stunning scenery in the area. Absolutely nothing negative to say about this place and I can only hope I get to return! Highly, HIGHLY recommended.

Reviewer:Travelled S | Tue 9th Aug 2005 | 14 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Bicycle Rent
  • Horse Riding
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat